LHU Testing Center

As of 3 P.M., Friday, January 22, 2016 - The Lock Haven University Testing Center WILL BE OPEN tomorrow, Saturday, January 23, 2016. 

Should the forecast/conditions change drastically overnight, please check the website for updates.

About the LHU Testing Center

Lock Haven University is certified as a computer based testing (CBT) site by Pearson VUE, the company that administers the PECT tests, and Educational Testing Services, the company that administers the PRAXIS series.   Until LHU opened its center on  November 3rd, 2012, students had to travel to Harrisburg and/or Philadelphia to take the online exams. Candidates schedule test times with Pearson VUE or ETS and use the test center on LHU campus when it is convenient for them.  The center is open to students from other institutions as well.



Pearson VUE provides a full suite of services from test development to data management, and delivers exams through the world's most comprehensive and secure network of test centers in 175 countries.Pearson Professional Centers is a global network of more than 230 company-owned and -operated test centers. These test centers deliver the high level of exam delivery security and are designed to satisfy the most demanding requirements for high-stakes testing programs.

The centers and staff provide a positive reflection of each testing program and ensure that each test taker is handled consistently and professionally at all times.

***All registration, payment and scheduling is done through the PearsonVUE website.


Educational Testing Services - ETS

The Praxis Series® Tests


The Praxis Series® tests measure test takers’ knowledge and skills. The tests are used for licensing and certification processes and include:

  • Praxis® Core Academic Skills for Educators (Core) Tests
    These tests measure academic skills in Reading, Writing and Mathematics. They were designed to provide comprehensive assessments that measure the skills and content knowledge of candidates entering teacher preparation programs. See Praxis Core information for test takers.
  • Praxis® Subject Assessments (formerly the Praxis II® tests)
    These tests measure subject-specific content knowledge, as well as general and subject-specific teaching skills, that K–12 educators need for beginning teaching. See Praxis Subject Assessments information for test takers.
State Testing Requirements

Each state and licensing organization determines its own certification and Praxis® passing score requirements. For more information about certification requirements, visit the state requirements section. If your institution would like to use a Praxis test that has not been approved by your state, contact the Praxis program for further information. 

See also:

***All registration, payment and scheduling for Praxis exams is done through the ETS website.