Testing Services


What tests do I need to take? Testing requirements are dependent on certification type.  Read more about which tests are required for teacher certification in Pennsylvania.

Passing requirements. Each PECT assessment includes multiple modules. To pass an assessment, examinees must pass each module. Based on the recommendations of panels of Pennsylvania educators, the Pennsylvania Department of Education has established, for each module, a performance criterion (i.e., cutscore) that must be achieved. A scaled score of 220 (on a 100–300 scale) represents this performance criterion.

Information about each test. Get specific information about a test, including when and where you can take the test, and access preparation materials by selecting the test from the following table.

Praxis Series

The Praxis Series provides tests and other services for states to use as part of the teacher licensing and certification process.LHU requires that you pass Praxis I, the Pre-Professional Skills Tests (PPST), to assess your ability in Reading, Writing, and Mathematics by the end of your third semester. You must then pass Praxis II, which consists of one or two tests that measure your knowledge of your teaching field, before you may student teach. Both Praxis I and Praxis II are offered in the computer-based testing format. Please contact the Testing Center to schedule a computer-based test.

Remember: no cell phones or electronic devices are allowed in the testing center!

Effective immediately, possession of or use of telephones, cell phones, BlackBerry® devices, PDAs, and other electronic or photographic devices is prohibited in the test center. If you bring such devices to the test center, you will be dismissed from the test, your registration and test fees will be forfeited, and your scores will be canceled. Test center staff is not permitted to collect or store devices.

Pearson Pre-service Academic Performance Assessment (PAPA)

Beginning April 2, 2012, the ETS Praxis I tests below will no longer be required for Admission to Teacher Education. Instead, the tests listed below, administered through Pearson Evaluation Systems as part of the Pennsylvania Educator Certification Tests (PECT), will replace the ETS Praxis I tests. These tests will be delivered as computer-based tests and are designed in a modular format with several modules comprising one full assessment. This will permit a candidate to retake a module without being required to retake the entire assessment. (PDE Weekly Emails 8-1-2011 and 9-19-2011).

The new tests include: Pre-service Academic Performance Assessment (PAPA) – This will REPLACE the Praxis I series through ETS of Mathematics, Reading, and Writing.

  • Module 1 (Code 001) – Reading
  • Module 2 (Code 002) – Mathematics
  • Module 3 (Code 003) – Writing

With the PECT PAPA tests, there is no Composite Score or GPA matrix available as there is in ETS Praxis I testing.

If you took the ETS Praxis I (Reading, Writing, Mathematics) test(s), and did NOT receive a passing score you will have two years from the last test date to retake the test(s), otherwise you will have to pass ALL of the PAPA series tests. (PDE Weekly Email 8-26-2011). This two year period does not affect or change any current requirements for Admission to Teacher Education or Recommendation for Student Teaching.

Tests Required for Undergraduate Candidates for Initial Certification

Pre-service Academic Performance Assessment (PAPA) plus the appropriate certification area test(s).

Tests Required for Specific Certification Areas


Special Education PreK–8

Special Education 7–12

To register and locate testing centers for PAPA exams, go to: http://www.pa.nesinc.com/