National Honor Society in Crimnal Justice: Alpha Phi Sigma

In fall 2007, Lock Haven University established a local chapter of Alpha Phi Sigma, the National Criminal Justice Honor Society. Our local chapter is known as Iota Sigma. The national headquarters is located in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. Membership in this honor society is prestigious and quite an accomplishment.  Eligibility requires a GPA of 3.2 in the major and in the discipline, membership in top 35% of their class academic standing.

Membership in the Lock Haven chapter of the Criminal Justice Honor Society offers opportunities for experiential learning and civic engagenement in the field.  Historical projects have included beautification of East Campus, meet-n-greet and midterm socials, window displays at Stevenson Library, peer advising and a discipline specific student writing lab. Community activities include adopt a family particiation, local park clean ups, and food drives.  Alpha Phi Sigma membership is a lifetime one and has the benefit of advanced step levels upon entry level employment in federal and some state jobs.

Each year, the organization sponsors and runs an annual Zumba Thon Fund Raiser in the Campus Recreation Center.  Students, faculty and community members participate.  Proceeds from the event are donated to the Clinton County Women's Center for resources in the protection from and prevention of domestic violence in the community.

If you have any questions concerning the club, please contact any of our officers.

Officers 2014


Toni Warfel

Vice President

Colin Myers


Alycia Demilio 


Bethany Hatheway 


Ashley Hershberger

 Faculty Advisor

 Dr. Katie Ely

The club meets approximately two times per month. The exact meeting dates, with times, will be posted on the club information board on third floor of East Campus.

Spring 2015 New Members: Michael Davis, Sarah DiMiglio, Matthew Gibson, Mikaela Jabco, Gage Piechocki, Nathaniel Rohrer, Robert Smith, Katherine Stanziale, Derek Zettle 

Fall 2014 New Members: Bradly Eaton, Tanya Ganoe, Macy Harpster, Sheldon Helm, Kody Hepfer, Jordan Kline, John Pritchard, Melanie Sayres, Logan Shulenberger, Quentin Shevitz, Zachery Whitsel

Spring 2014 New Members: Daniela Carvajal, Martin Deal, Bethany Hatheway, Ian Hoyle, Colin Myers, Wesley Pryce, Cole Spurley, Chelsea Weaver

Fall 2013 New Members: Scott Carr, Sarah Ciaramella, Ashley Hershberger, Logan Houtz, Sharina Jimenez, Rebecca Ogden, Evan Shipley, Lauren Skonezney, Toni Warfel

Spring 2013 New Members: Kaytlin Bowersox, Alycia DeMilio, Colby Hunsinger, Chris Katkowski, Jeremy Pollick, Todd Schorr, Kaleb Snyder, Beth Sunderlin, Nick Vogelsong, Chance Zarilla

Fall 2012 New Members:Edward Celkos, Richand DiPaolo, Mark Nutwell, Keira Poole, Patrick Reeder, Rebecca Rickrode, Leigha Stewart, Justen Shomo, Alyssa Tympanick

Spring 2012 New Members: Kailey S. Cingle, Brittany N. Favazza, Levi S. Feitosa, Shelby Gazzo, Lora Litzelman, Michael A. Ramos, Michael S. Walker

Fall 2011 New Members: Kurtis S. Benjamin, Josh Bucior, Mike Conrad, Daniel Dreibilbis, Jason Everhart, Christopher Keen, Adam Lindsey, Andrew McGee, Nicole Stalnecker, Taylor Winner   Transfer members: Erica Berg, Dr. Katerine Pantaleo (faculty)

Spring 2011 New Members: Joe Bacorn, Justin Baysore, Andrea Brackbill, Steve Geiger, Kristin Matula, Justin Price, Jay Rhoads, Allison White, Dr. Ed Bowman (faculty)

Fall 2010 New Members: Brittany Lynn Beach, Andrew W. Miller, Julie Pursell, Chad F. Savrock, Brian J. Williamson

Spring 2010 New Members: Casey A. French, Desjenee Davis, Kurt W. Ledebur, Dennis W. Twigg

Fall 2009 New Members: Tina Yard, Michael Gray, Nick Overbaugh, LaShae' DeShawn Spratley

Spring 2009 New Members: Jacob Compton, Brett DeGroat, Andrew Mercer, Wes Plummer, Dan Sabo, Theodore Stauffer

Fall 2008 New Members: Shane Barie, Alexander Eck, Nathan Hakes, Heidi Hughes, Megan Peters

Spring 2008 New Members: Christopher Boyer, Jared Brown, Nathan Hakes, Suzann Hobart, Kaleigh Kolb, Alisha Levinsky, Lisa Mandetta, Tim Nicklas

Founding Members Fall 2007: Malissa Earley, Chris Figlarz, Kelly Heimbach, Jill Holton, Justina Kissell, Justin Lasut, Jonathan Millinder, Michael Novotny, Lloyd Rose, Kelly Schioppo, Adrienne Spring, Aaron Sutton