LHU Honor Society Welcomes New Members

November 22, 2013 - The Lock Haven University chapter of the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi welcomed new members at its fall reception and induction ceremony. The Phi Kappa Phi Chapter 179 Fall 2013 initiates consisted of 18 students representing many disciplines of study.

The induction ceremony took place on Sunday, November 17, 2013 in the Durrwachter Alumni Conference Center. Lock Haven University Chapter President Dr. Jeanine Page, Assistant Professor of Health Science, welcomed the initiates into Phi Kappa Phi, "a century old community of scholars and professionals that includes individuals who have distinguished themselves in positions of leadership and whose careers have been characterized by achievement."

Students inducted into Phi Kappa Phi were Evan Baier, Amber Bickel, Kelsey Branch, Kelsey Caton, Julien Deljanovan, Katrina Dry, Crystal Foust, Philip Griffith, Erin Harklerode, Hilary Jones, Jennifer Koser, Tammy Moul, Michael Peters, Valerie Schramm, Nicole Shaw, Kelsey Shaw, Emily Stock, and Jessica VanHorn.

Phi Kappa Phi is the oldest, largest and most selective all-discipline honor society. The society motto is "Let the love of learning rule humanity." The society's mission is to recognize and promote academic excellence in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others. Only the top 10 percent of seniors and 7.5 % of juniors are eligible for membership.

The Lock Haven University of Pennsylvania chapter of Phi Kappa Phi has been in existence since 1975.

Lock Haven University is a member of the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education (PASSHE), the largest provider of higher education in the commonwealth. Its 14 universities offer more than 250 degree and certificate programs in more than 120 areas of study. Nearly 405,000 system alumni live and work in Pennsylvania.